Created by an Act of the Legislature in 2017, the WV Legislative Claims Commission hears claims against the state for money damages. Awards are made subject to final approval by the Legislature. Upon request, it issues advisory opinions to state agencies. It also investigates and hears claims made by victims of criminally injurious conduct for awards from the Crime Victims Compensation Fund.

Legislative Claims Commission

Janet N. Kawash, Clerk
janet.kawash@wvlegislature.gov
(304) 347-4851

Melissa M. Elliott, Docket Clerk
melissa.elliott@wvlegislature.gov
(304) 347-4851

Leslie R. Roberts, Business Manager
leslie.roberts@wvlegislature.gov
(304) 347-4851

Cynthia L. Pritchard, Administrative Assistant
cindy.pritchard@wvlegislature.gov
(304) 347-4851

Ronald G. Bryant, Office Assistant
ron.bryant@wvlegislature.gov
(304) 347-4851

Crime Victims Compensation Fund

Becky A. Ofiesh, Chief Deputy Clerk
becky.ofiesh@wvlegislature.gov
(304)-347-4850

Rachel N. Epling, Claim Investigator
rachel.norman@wvlegislature.gov
(304)-347-4850

Walter F. “Rocky” Martin, Claim Investigator
rocky.martin@wvlegislature.gov
(304)-347-4850

Amy R. Shupe, Claim Investigator
amy.shupe@wvlegislature.gov
(304)-347-4850

Monique D. Anderson-Fortson, Administrative Assistant
monique.fortson@wvlegislature.gov
(304)-347-4850